Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Searching for the name of my (late) grandfather

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Jacqueline

Jacqueline Report 23 Aug 2023 04:57

Hi everyone,

This is a long shot and I am a total beginner at this stuff but I'm hoping somebody out there can give me a place to start.

My mother was born in 1942 in Hampshire and is still alive. She didn't find out until she was 70 years old, several years ago, that her birth father was not the man she had grown up believing it was. Her mother passed away in 1984 and she found out from her older sister that they did not share the same father. All she was able to tell my mum was the following:

His name was either Darryl KING or KNIGHT (we don't know either the surname or how he spelled his first name, it could be Daryl or Darrell for example).

We think he lived in FARRINGDON, in Hampshire. My mum was born in Four Marks and I believe he paid for Nanny's maternity care when my mum was born prematurely.

We believe he died suddenly from a brain aneurism or similar when my mother was small, so it would have been around the mid 1940's when he passed away.